Test Error

metafields.c_f.article_image_alt Photo credit: Heart Chakra - Empowered by CarlyMarie

Understanding Your Chakra System: The Heart

Within each of us lies a subtle energy system, through which our energy flows and expands, allowing us to shine from the inside out. Widely referred to as our Chakra System, this invisible yet wildly powerful network runs from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. And within this system are seven individual energy centers, known as your chakras. Each chakra is associated with certain parts of the body, as well as specific mental and spiritual components, to which it feeds energy. When balanced and nourished, our chakras open, allowing energy to flow in and out effortlessly, extending this vitality and abundance to all pillars of life. Our lifestyle, habits, diet, thoughts, words, emotions, relationships, and life experiences all profoundly affect our chakras. It is so important to our health, wealth, and happiness that we become aware of this energy system and how our own actions affect it. And so, we present to you the S-Life Understanding Your Chakra System series. Over the next seven weeks, we will introduce a different chakra (working our way up the body), and what you can do to elevate and sustain your unique and divine energy in each area.

Our heart chakra lies at the center of our seven energy systems, with three below and three above. It is here that the physical and spiritual aspects of our life merge, allowing us to operate our lives from a holistic and whole perspective. Not surprisingly, the fourth chakra, located at it’s namesake (the heart), governs the flow of love in our lives. Our feelings of joy, warmth, compassion, love, and unity all originate in the heart chakra. From this space, we are able to form deep and loving bonds with others, as well as with ourselves.

The heart chakra is very much a unifying energy center. As previously noted, it is at our heart center that the physical and spiritual aspects our our lives and of ourselves meet and merge. This is the chakra of yang, or positive energy, connecting the lower chakras to the higher ones. Without this unification of body and soul, we would be incomplete. Similarly, it is here that we begin to recognize that we are are all connected in some way; we are all in this life together, and we are all so much more alike than we are different. By opening and balancing our heart chakra, we open ourselves to more meaningful relationships with others. A healthy heart chakra allows us to live fully in the moment, without fear of past hurts or grievances.

Even more important than our relationships with others is the relationship we have with ourselves. Do you treat yourself with the same respect, compassion, and unconditional love that you would a close friend or family member? How do you speak to yourself in the privacy of your own head? The amount of love we show ourselves is the amount of love that will surface in our lives. Make time to nurture your connection with your true self, and make self-love a daily practice in your life.

In almost every religion and tradition, love is referred to as the ultimate healing force, so it is of no surprise that the heart chakra serves as our healing center. Physically, this energy center oversees the health of our heart, lungs, breasts, cardiac plexus, and lymphatic system. More times than not, imbalances and health conditions in these areas can be tied to a closed or inactive heart chakra. It truly is of upmost importance to our minds, souls, and bodies to nurture and nourish this sacred center of healing.

When out of balance, you may experience: grief, anger, jealousy, fear of betrayal, feelings of hatred towards yourself or others, negativity, heart disease, high/low blood pressure, and poor circulation.

When properly balanced, you will experience: compassion, self-love, love for others, joy, positivity, ease in forgiveness, acceptance of others and yourself, generosity, and kindness.

So how do we go about balancing, nourishing, and loving this sacred energy system?

A healthy and balanced heart chakra vibrates that the radiant hue of green, making green veggies (our fave!) the ideal nourishment. Bring balance and healing energy to your heart chakra by consuming leafy greens and cruciferous vegetables daily! Some of our favorites include kale, spinach, arugula, dandelion greens, lettuce, cabbage, broccoli, chard, bok choy, and garden herbs.

Related Posts

Most Popular

Sign up for our newsletter